Community Board Members

Alastair Revell, VP, Chair, Community Board

Alastair Revell, a mathematics graduate, is the Chairman and Managing Consultant of Revell Research Systems, a management and technology consulting practice that he established in 1985.
He is a Chartered IT Professional (holding a Certificate of Current Competence), a Chartered Engineer and a European Registered Engineer.
Alastair is a Vice-President and Trustee of the Institute (elected to serve from 2018) as well as Chairman of the Community Board (appointed from 2018). He has been a member of Community (formerly Membership) Board since 2016 and sat on its Best Practice Committee between 2010 and 2018 (serving as Vice-Chair from 2014). He has also been a member of the Institute’s Registration and Standards Committee since 2015 and has been a CITP Assessor since 2010. He has been an active member of the BCS South West branch since 2008.
Alastair has been the Director General of the Institution of Analysts and Programmers (IAP) since 2011. He was elected to its governing body in 2009. He is also a Member of the Editorial Board of Software Development Practice. 
He has undertaken (in a part-time capacity to provide industrial perspective) the development and assessment of 15 IT modules leading to undergraduate awards by the University of Plymouth between 1996 and 2006, including a significant portion of an FdSc Internet Technology with Business programme.
He was appointed by the UK Information Commissioner to the Technology Reference Panel in 2011. He also sits on the Advisory Committee for Trustworthy Software and has been chairman of the Trustworthy Software Foundation since 2016. He is also a member of the IT External Advisory Panel at the University of Plymouth.
Alastair is keen to see the BCS Organisational Membership Scheme developed to attract smaller IT firms and to strengthen the Institute’s links with communities outside the BCS.

Colin Akhurst
Colin reports to the CEO at NPS, where he acts as the SRO for a number of major programs with clients.  He is innovation sponsor for the NPS Inernal program bringing new products and services to market.  He fulfills a strategic role working closely with customers and the sales forces to ensure successful qualification is done and capture plans are in place for important bids.  He is the Chair of the Justice and Emergency Services Committee for Tech UK and a member of the Defence Industry Board and the Public Services Board.

"I firmly believe in the "right reform" of our public services.  Our government needs much help to improve service and reduce cost.  We at NPS do that everyday despite the hurdles and difficulties of conducting business in the space.  Common standards and approach to systems, open engagement with the best in industry is essential for the government client to understand what is possible.  when they do that, extraordinary successful outcomes happen.  When they don't they are often disappointed"

Kevin Chalmers
Dr Kevin Chalmers is currently Deputy Head of the School of Arts (Computing) at the University of Roehampton, where he currently leads the development of new computer science department. He also sits on the university's Cybersecurity Group. Kevin has achieved CITP, CEng, and FBCS status with the BCS.  Kevin is currently Vice-Chair of the BCS Academic Accreditation Committee, a member of the Regulations and Standards Committee, Engineering Council Review Panel, and Community Board. Kevin is also an Academic Assessor and CEng assessor.

Ian Fish, Chair Security & Privacy Executive
My involvement with BCS started with a chance conversation when I was running the VIP transport section at the International Air Tattoo (now Royal IAT) at Boscombe Down in 1992.  One of the drivers was a member of the Computer Security Specialist Group (now the ISSG) and he persuaded me that it would be a good idea to attend the two-day conference later that year.  I got slightly hooked and attended a few events including the 1993 AGM – it turned out that I was the only person not already on the committee in the room so I was immediately voted in!  I have been on the committee ever since and for the last two years I have been the Chair.

John Jones
John Jones has been in the business of IT and associated services since the early ‘80s.  His particular specialism is working with service providers to the UK public sector and helping them deliver via IT, trans-formative services to the wider public.  He is very keen to bring new blood (both young and old) and feels the BCS is a great way of achieving this objective.

Len Keighley, Member, Council
Involved in BCS activities for 35+ years at Branch, Region and National level, latterly on Council and Community Board. Currently also Treasurer of BCS Manchester Branch.
Worked in IT for 45+ years, progressing to Senior Application Architect for LTSB. In 2007 moved into Data Warehouse Consultancy and have been involved with projects for all the major High Street Banks.

Image to follow
Dr Philip Scott, Chair, Health & Care Executive
Bio to follow

Garfield Southall, Chair, Programme, Practice and Policy Committee

Garfield is chair of the Programme, Practice and Policy Committee and sits on the Community Board.
Garfield holds the post of Executive Dean for the Faculty of Science and Engineering at the University of Chester. Garfield began working with valve-driven computers back in the late 60s and started his career at the University in 1984, working as a computer consultant until appointed as a Senior Lecturer  in Computer Science in 1990. He took various roles within the department, and eventually became Head of Computer Science and Mathematics, before becoming Associate Dean in 2011. Garfield is also chair of the University Staff Association.
His interests are ultra-distance running, cycling and music of all flavours.

Ian Speller, Interim Chair, Finance Committee.
I am currently the Chair of the Finance Committee.  I have been either Chaiman or Treasurer of North Staffs Branch from 1999, member of the old Branches board 2000 - 2002, Member of Community Board Policy Committee 2010 - 2013 and spent 6 years on council, leaving in 2011.   Professionally I have spent 30 years in Real Time Computing and Management and then 14 years in Academia, retiring as Award Leader Computer Science at Staffordshire University in 2013.

Image to follow
Ms Jacqui Hogan, Council Membre
Bio to follow

Image to follow
Mrs Jillian Moore
Bio to follow

Holly Porter
BCS Director, Membership

Jon Jeffery

BCS Head of Community

Kerry Wear
BCS Secretariat Support for Community Board

(Membership of the Board approved by Trustee Board)