Programme, Practice and Policy Committee Members

Garfield Southall, Chair, Programme, Practice and Policy Committee

Garfield is chair of the Programme, Practice and Policy Committee and sits on the Community Board.
Garfield holds the post of Executive Dean for the Faculty of Science and Engineering at the University of Chester. Garfield began working with valve-driven computers back in the late 60s and started his career at the University in 1984, working as a computer consultant until appointed as a Senior Lecturer  in Computer Science in 1990. He took various roles within the department, and eventually became Head of Computer Science and Mathematics, before becoming Associate Dean in 2011. Garfield is also chair of the University Staff Association.
His interests are ultra-distance running, cycling and music of all flavours.


Kevin Chalmers
Dr Kevin Chalmers is currently an Associate Professor at Edinburgh Napier University, where he currently leads the Software Engineering subject group.  Kevin has achieved CITP, CEng, and FBCS status with the BCS.  His current role requires leadership of 20 academics in the School of Computing, including four professors and the Dean of School.  His previous role was School Academic Lead for Quality Enhancement where he sat on the University Quality and Standards Committee and the University Regulations Group.  Kevin is also an Academic Assessor for the BCS Accreditation Board.  His other roles in the BCS include membership of the Communities Board, Registration and Standards Committee, the Best Practice Committee, and Edinburgh Branch where he acts as Educational Liaison Officer.

Image to follow
Paula Clarendon
Secretary of Project Management SG (PROMS-G).  Active member of various BCS groups and branches.  Customer focused IT experience in Project Management, Product Development, Training, and Technical Support.

Amy Icke
Amy is the Online Learning and Innovation Manager at the Girls’ Day School Trust, a family of 25 schools across England and Wales. In this role she supports staff in the effective use of digital learning platforms and tools, leads the GDST’s online learning programme and organises events to promote and support women working in technology. Prior to this role, Amy gained a distinction in her MA in Library and Information Studies at University College London whilst working as Assistant Librarian and E-learning co-ordinator at St Paul’s Girls’ School and for two years, led the library at Wimbledon High School. She is also a Trustee for the Library Services Trust.

Sun Lau
Chun is an Approved BCS assessor. Engineering manager focuses on Operation Management, Technical Development, Network Automation, and private Cloud.

Irene Lesmana
Senior IT consultant with 17+ years of experience, specifically in capital market and financial services. My professional expertise is formulating strategic advice and practical solutions to complex architecture and integration challenges, as well as leveraging the power of machine learning and AI.

Paul Leonard

Paul is a senior IT professional with 19 years experience in IT, focusing on IT Infrastructure, Operations and Project Management; he is also a committee member of the BCS Glasgow Branch, a BCS Chartership Assessor and a member of the BCS Investigation Panel and the BCS Community Groups Fiance Committee. 

Jon Jeffery
Head of Community

Kerry Wear
BCS Secretariat for the Committee