MB Members

Iain Thompson, VP, Chair, Membership Board

Iain has been a member of Edinburgh Branch Committee since 1984, served on Branches Management Committee 2001-2010 (most recently as Vice Chair), member of Council and Nominations Committee from 2010. He also serves as a Council liaison on the MB., VP & Chair and a member of the Finance Committee.

Colin Akhurst

Colin reports to the CEO at NPS, where he acts as the SRO for a number of major programs with clients.  He is innovation sponsor for the NPS Inernal program bringing new products and services to market.  He fulfills a strategic role working closely with customers and the sales forces to ensure successful qualification is done and capture plans are in place for important bids.  He is the Chair of the Justice and Emergency Services Committee for Tech UK and a member of the Defence Industry Board and the Public Services Board.

"I firmly believe in the "right reform" of our public services.  Our government needs much help to improve service and reduce cost.  We at NPS do that everyday despite the hurdles and difficulties of conducting business in the space.  Common standards and approach to systems, open engagement with the best in industry is essential for the government client to understand what is possible.  when they do that, extraordinary successful outcomes happen.  When they don't they are often disappointed"

Andrew M. Cox MEng (Hons), PgCert, MBCS, CITP, MIET, MCP

Andy has been a BCS member since 2002 and is a founding member of the Mid-Wales branch where he has served as Treasurer since 2010.  He has served as a Member of the Membership Board Finance Committee since 2013.  Andy currently works in a Management role within Local Government, overseeing a diverse portfolio of business systems encompassing mobile working, customer interface and back office functions and leading a small team.  He also has several years of experience in Leadership of sports organisations, having been a former Chair of the Welsh Sea Rowing Association and having served a 3 year tenure as a Director and Board Member of Welsh Rowing.

Professor Tom Crick CEng CSci FBCS FIET FHEA

Tom is Professor of Computer Science & Public Policy and Deputy Director of Enterprise at Cardiff Metropolitan University. He is the Nesta Data Science Fellow, a 2014 Fellow of the Software Sustainability Institute and a 2014 HEA National Teaching Fellow. His interests sit at the research/public policy interface, identifying data-driven and computationally-intensive problems across a range of domains, as well as across science policy, STEM education and skills/infrastructure for the digital economy. He is a Trustee of the British Science Association and sits on the board of directors of the Campaign for Science & Engineering, the leading independent advocate for science and engineering in the UK.

He is a Council-elected Trustee of BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT, as well as sitting on a wide range of BCS boards and committees. He blogs at http://proftomcrick.com or you can find him on Twitter: @ProfTomCrick.

Arthur Dransfield
Arthur has served for many years as chair of West London Branch; is a former member of Branches Board and Council, has served on Qualifications & Standards Board and External Relations Board, was chair of TickIT and its successor JTISC.

Helen Fletcher, Policy Committee Chair

I have been a professional member of BCS and Chartered Engineer for nearly twnety years.  I am currently Chair aof Membership Board Policy committee and Vice Chair of Council,  and i was previously Dorset Branch Secretary, events manager and BCS Women representative.

I spent ten years as Director of Informatiion Services for a university where I had responsibility for everything IT realted, and also the library.  I took early retirment form this role a few years ago.  before that i was an academic, specialising in systems analysis and design,  and spent several years as head of hte academic department of computing

Irene Glendinning

Irene joined BCS as a student member in 1971 when in the final year of her Computing Science degree at North Staffordshire Polytechnic. She then became MBCS in1976, Chartered Engineer in 1992, CITP 2004 and Chartered Fellow in 2008. After graduation, in 1972 she worked in a variety of companies in programming and systems analysis roles.  She also taught in secondary level, further education and adult education before joining Coventry Polytechnic in 1990 as a lecturer in computer science, later to become Coventry University in 1992. After ten years’ absence from BCS Irene re-joined the Society in 1992 and became more actively involved in the Society’s business.  She served as BCS/Engineering Council institutional assessment panellist. She became a committee member of BCS Coventry Branch in 2002, moving on to branch chairman in 2010.

In 2005 she founded a youth competition, still run by BCS Coventry branch every second year, known as Challenge IT.  In 2012 she founded the Coventry and Warwickshire CAS teachers’ hub that she still co-leads.  Through her roles at BCS, CAS and Coventry University, she is actively engaged in supporting ICT, IT and computing teachers and pupils in schools.


Chris Jamieson
Chris Jamieson is Head of Policing, UK at Logica. He is a Fellow of the IoD, has been a board member of the Information Assurance Advisory Council (IAAC); other roles have  included Sector Development Director - Public Safety & Security, at Capgemini, membership of Intellect's Identity Management and JESICA groups, a JP in Queensland,Australian Computer Society committees as well as BCS SGs and Branches

John Jones

John Jones has been in the business of IT and associated services since the early ‘80s.  His particular specialism is working with service providers to the UK public sector and helping them deliver via IT, trans-formative services to the wider public.  He is very keen to bring new blood (both young and old) and feels the BCS is a great way of achieving this objective.

Professor Margaret Ross
Margaret’s extensive CV includes current Hampshire Branch chair, member of Council, member of Nominations Committee, committee member of the Quality, Green IT, e-Learning, Animation & Gaming and BCSWomen SGs, Independent member of PITCOM, and former BCS Senator on the Engineering Council. Margaret also serves as a Council liaison on the MB.

Garfield Southall, Chair MB Best Practice Committee
Garfield is chair of both the Best Practice Committee and BCS Chester & North Wales branch.  He is also Director of the NTI (New Technology Initiative) at the University of Chester.

Ian Sunley, Chair Finance Committee.

I am currently the Chair of the Finance Committee.  I have been either Chaiman or Treasurer of North Staffs Branch from 1999, member of the old Branches board 2000 - 2002, Member of Membership Board Policy Committee 2010 - 2013 and spent 6 years on council, leaving in 2011.   Professionally I have spent 30 years in Real Time Computing and Management and then 14 years in Academia, retiring as Award Leader Computer Science at Staffordshire University in 2013.


James Uhomoibhi
James is the founder chair of the e-Learning Specialist Group and a former chair of BCS Belfast Branch. He is Lecturer in Engineering and Faculty e-Learning Coordinator at the University of Ulster.

David Evans
David is BCS Membership Director.

Judith Taylor
Judith is BCS Head of Member Groups.

(Membership of Board approved by Trustee Board)